It’s a Roller Coaster

I was thinking about this fitness journey and have decided that it really is more like a roller coaster in so many ways. Emotionally, physically and mentally there are many ups and downs and even steps backwards. I started my journey to the stage several years ago only to be derailed with several medical issues. It started with my gallbladder removal which put me out of the gym for several months and really put a damper on my goal. The following year I was met with more stomach trouble that brought me to the ER several times and got me one overnighter. Still no diagnosis…but more on that later. During that same year I started to get really, really exhausted and my body seemed to always be sore. I thought I was over working it at the gym so I started cutting back. I gave up my two nights of boxing but that didn’t seam to help. By August of 2013 I had stopped working out all together and things were getting worse. In November of 2013 after many, many tests I was diagnosed with Lyme Disease. In previous posts I have mentioned how tough the next few months were. It was pretty awful. By January 2014 I was starting to get some energy back and I was heading back to the gym a few days a week trying not to over do it. The first time I did step ups my leg gave out and I landed on the floor ( I had femoral neuropathy from the lyme disease)! It was then I knew I was heading up a pretty steep hill to get my strength back. I found Cathy Savage Fitness 2 years prior but couldn’t keep my commitment due to the health issues. I decided it was time to try again.

Now fast forward several months and I am well on my way to the fitness stage! I changed my diet drastically and mainly eat Paleo along with Isagenix products to fuel my body. I haven’t had any ER visits or hospitalizations due to stomach trouble since I started this and I have been feeling amazing. Yes I have had some slip ups and I have missed some work outs. But overall I am moving forward.

Most recently my daughters health has come into question, there is a small mass on her neck that we are currently in the process of having diagnosed. It is most likely a thyroglossal duct cyst that will need to be removed. But as a mother of this precious small almost 8 year old I have been very emotional and have had lots of questions about my journey and what I am trying to do and why my daughter is having to go through this health issue. It took me about a week to get back on track with my workouts, eating and emotions! I am back, I put the deposit on my figure suit, I am working with a posing coach and I have a new drive.

Life is not always going to go as we plan, there are going to be some steep uphill’s, some blood rushing down hills and some very sharp turns. But that’s what living is and going with the flow is part of the fun. You can’t always fight what you are given sometimes you just need to make the best of it, hold on and have fun!

I have started a go fund me page for my journey to the stage. If you want to help out here is the link http://www.gofundme.com/acn088th

Thank you all for your support and as always feel free to ask questions or leave comments. I love to hear from you.

Leave a comment